Ishaa prayer

The Isha prayer is one of the five obligatory prayers in Islam. The word "Isha" means "night" in Arabic. This prayer consists of four units (Rak'ahs) and is observed by Muslims as an act of worship and submission to Allah

The proof for Ishaa

The proof from the Quran in Surah al-Israa verse 78: "Observe the prayer from the decline of the sun until the darkness of the night and the dawn prayer, for certainly the dawn prayer is witnessed by angels."

On which ibn Kahir commented: "(from midday till the darkness of the night,) meaning darkness, or it was said, sunset. This was understood to mean Dhuhr `Asr, Maghrib and `Isha'.""

How to observe Ishaa

The Ishaa prayer is observed at the time when the red light of the evening twilight has faded on the western horizon. However, the prevalence of light pollution in our modern world has made it extremly difficult to witness this subtle illumination without relying on complex calculations. Nevertheless, if you ever find yourself in a remote area far from human settlements, seize the chance to ascend to an elevated location. There, you can witness the beauty of the evening twilight light, similar to how the companions of the Prophet (peace be upon him) experienced it. Embrace this exceptional and awe-inspiring experience, allowing it to forge a deep connection with the natural rhythm of the day and strengthen your religious bond.

The end time of Ishaa

The end time of Ishaa prayer is determined by the midpoint between Maghrib and Fajr. Without the help of calculations it would be difficult to know the exact midpoint. So, practically it's advisiable not to deplay the Ishaa prayer until late into the night.

Learn about the calculation of Ishaa